Honorary Members of AJA

Honorary membership has been awarded in recognition of the importance of lifetime achievement and contribution to Jungian ideas in the world.

The work of honorary members connects closely with AJA and its purposes.

Andrew Samuels – Honorary Member of AJA

Andrew Samuels (b. 1949 –   ) is a Jungian analyst, educator, author, activist, and prolific thinker in the field of analytical psychology.   His working life includes clinical practice, a tenured professorship in analytical psychology, writing, and political organizing and activism. He has been at the forefront of analytical psychology for the past forty years, focusing upon where it meets other disciplines, in order to increase consciousness, address transformative change, and support evolution. He works in an international context, across multiple cultures around the globe.  His work centres around a post-Jungian and postmodern critique of the strengths, limitations and needed extensions of analytical psychology in modern times. His books include Jung and the Post-Jungians (1985), The Father (1986), A Critical Dictionary of Jungian Analysis (1986, with Bani Shorter and Alfred Plaut), The Plural Psyche (1989), Psychopathology: Contemporary Jungian Perspectives (1992), The Political Psyche (1993), Politics on the Couch: Citizenship and the Internal Life (2001), and A New Therapy for Politics (2016). His books have been

Read More »

Anne Baring – Honorary Member of AJA

Anne Baring 1931 – (MA Oxon, PH.D. (hons) in Wisdom Studies, Ubiquity University 2018) was educated in England, France and America. She is a Jungian analyst and the author and co-author of 7 books including, with Jules Cashford, The Myth of the Goddess; Evolution of an Image (1992); with Andrew Harvey, The Mystic Vision (1995) and The Divine Feminine (1996); and with Dr Scilla Elworthy, Soul Power: An Agenda for a Conscious Humanity (2009). Her latest book, published in 2013 and re-printed in 2020, is The Dream of the Cosmos: a Quest for the Soul which was given the Scientific and Medical Network book prize for 2013. Her book for children, The Birds Who Flew Beyond Time, first published in 1993, was based on the Sufi text The Conference of the Birds and was illustrated by the late Thetis Blacker. The ground of all her work is a deep interest in history as well as the spiritual, mythological, shamanic and artistic traditions of different

Read More »
Skip to content